Skip to content

Writer Geeking/Nerding

January 8, 2012
English: Nerd Deutsch: Nerd

Image via Wikipedia

So, waaay back in November of last year, I decided to put my mouth where my money is (or something like that) and give National Novel Writing Month (or, for the literate nerds like me, NaNoWriMo). You set up an account on their website and you can keep track of your writing progress throughout the month. The goal is to write 50,000 words during the month of November. Now, I fought gallantly against the Powers That Be, but succumbed to my true desires: my wife, my kids, my family, and college football (Go Beavers! …be quiet, it’s a rebuilding year…again). Needless to say, I did not make it to the goal. While I was a bit bummed I didn’t “win”, one positive thing that happened to me was learning about my new writing tool.

Scrivener.

Scrivener is a software program for writers of all calibers: fiction, non-fiction, term papers, even screenplays for stage and film (though that portion of the program is a bit on the weak side). I found the program as the company, Literature and Latte, was a promoter of NaNoWriMo. I found the program there and was able to download a free trial of the program for 30 days. After 2 days, I was hooked. Now, I’m not going into a bunch of details about the program–go to the website and check it out for yourself–but I love the program and its features. It can store research information, images, and…no duh…a novel in progress. Check it out. For reals. Plus, if you’re able to complete the 50K word challenge, you get a nice (read: awesome) prize from them.

Yep. I just nerded out about a writing program.

OK. I’m done. Time to go back to writing.

Cheers

Stasey

From → General, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

