Skip to content

One Word At A Time

June 6, 2011
Writer L. Frank Baum, writing with pen.

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been really good about not looking behind me and only focusing on what lays ahead of me. While reflection is a good thing, losing yourself in the past can do nothing but hold you back; a mire of frustration filled with what if’s and could have’s. But, unlike Orpheus and Eurydice, I knew I could look back in safety and only smile at my literary progression.

It’s been about a year, give or take, since I’ve begun writing Jac and the City of 1,000 Worlds and I wanted to stop and see how far I’ve come. I’m writing one chapter at a time (duh) but I’m saving each chapter as its own document. That way I can focus on the current chapter and not dwell on what I’ve written. It also allows me to only see how many words I’ve written in the current chapter and not the entire novel. But, after completing Chapter 11—and I’m near completing Chapter 12—I decided to look back and see where I’m at, word-wise.

To date I’ve written around 27890 words. That is roughly 95 pages of text, give or take. And while it’s been a year to make it this far, I’ve made it this far. I’ve never written anything over ~4,000 words and so this has been a massive achievement for me as a writer. Pretty friggin’ cool. And this is just the beginning, the very clichéd “tip of the iceberg”, of the amazing adventures of Jac and her travels in the 1,000 worlds of Meridian.

Stoked indeed.

Thank you to my beautiful wife for her constant support of my craft and for the countless eye-rolling she gives me, letting me know when I’ve talked about writing for too long (is there really such a thing?).

Thank you to my family for letting me be the artist/boy that I am. My children and my wife are my world. Without them, I would have nothing.

And thank you to my friends and readers and other forms of support to keep me going. From very old and dear friends to new acquaintances, you are all inspiration to not to stop.

Unlike Orpheus and Eurydice, I am safe to look back and see my creation behind me, beside me, and ahead of me. I am blessed by all which surrounds me and I appreciate every second of what has been given to me. I love and appreciate it…and so does Jac.

Onward!

2 Comments
  1. Onward indeed. Congratulations.

    I had a friend who would talk to me endlessly [without ever showing how annoyed she must have been] about my characters. She had the knack of entering the world with me so we could talk about them as if they were real people with real situations to resolve and survive.

    Friends are priceless.

    Lxx

  2. Madison Woods permalink

    I do the same thing – save each chapter as a file. During editing I am compiling the whole document together so I can see how many words I’ve edited so far, but also have the individual chapter files if I want to rework one again. That makes it easy to yank it out and reinsert.

Leave a Reply

