Skip to content

Swimming the seas of green

April 22, 2011

So, with the first two of my stories under my publishing belt, I decided to look out into the larger world of publications. There are so many to choose from and will need to do a bit of research.  Any ideas of magazines/journals which accept the magical realism genre of fiction? Most of my writing tends to focus on “regular” people ending up in positions beyond the “regular” world. Any recommendations would be most helpful.

With regards to the title of the post, I am going to enter a short story contest put on by Wordstock, an annual literary convention gathering here in Portland.

An aside: I really dislike having to use the term “convention”. It makes me feel like I’m a sales rep for whatever [enter product here]. But I digress.

Granted I only have two published stories to date but, as of late, my confidence in my abilities has grown. While it’s important to be confident, it’s also important to be modest and have perseverance during this process. Since I’m nowhere near getting that multi-million dollar book contract (with the film rights), I’m going to have to build some pretty thick skin when the rejections start coming my way.

Another aside: My first story submission was accepted.

Even though I’m currently batting 1.000, I can’t let that blind me to the reality that is the realm of publishing. My book is 25% finished and I’m keeping at it, slowly but surely. Although I’m taking a break from it right now and focusing on “Everwood”, the working title for my contest submission. I think of Miyazaki’s masterpiece, “Spirited Away” and Alice in Wonderland, with a dash of Neil Gaiman’s “Coraline” thrown in for coloring. It’s a fairy tale for adults.

So for now, I’m taking a little break from Jac and working on Everwood. I’m also working on a card game far from the realm of dreaming cities and a curious girl under the sea of green.

Cheers.

Oh, and just in case you haven’t read it yet: www.efictionmag.com . It has good stories.

Cheers.

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

